Tags

, , ,

Does anyone else love musicals????  Know what musical the post title is from???

Damn Yankees!  I love listening to musicals!!  Some of my favorites are South Pacific, Chicago, My Fair Lady, The Music Man, Rent, and I could go on and on 🙂

But I digress.  The real reason for the post title is because I made my “famous” beef heart chili.  And by “famous” I mean Mike and I have eaten it and liked it.  And yes, it really does includes heart 🙂  I actually made it this past Sunday because my family was coming over for lunch.  My sister, her husband, and my adorable 8 month old nephew came over along with my parents for a nice family meal.

Is he not the cutest thing??!?!!?! (And he's obviously used to posing for the camera, unlike his aunt who apparently just learned to look at the correct camera!)

I love his little outfit:

He thinks fingers were on the menu for lunch, nom nom nom

So back to this awesome, “famous” meal of mine.  Organ meat is really good for you, especially the heart:

(Heart) has a higher protein content (than steaks, roasts, and ground beef). In addition, heart is an excellent source of a number of nutrients, including thiamin, folate, selenium, phosphorus, zinc, CoQ10 and several of the B vitamins. In addition, beef heart contains amino acids that are thought to improve metabolism and compounds that promote the production of collagen and elastin (thin and wrinkle free? Sign us up!)  Source

Honestly I’ve never eaten organ meat until this year.  We started buying a quarter of a cow from a local farm.  This way we were guaranteed to have fresh, local, grass-fed meat.  We opted to also get all the organs (heart, liver, tongue, oxtail) and bones.  It’s been fun finding new recipes for the organ meat (also known as offal) and honesty it all tastes really good (except I’m still not a huge fan of liver but I have a recipe I’ll share with you another day that’s pretty good and Mike loves!).

So seriously try beef heart chili if you ever get a chance.  The heart is nicely hidden in all the chili flavors so you barely know you’re eating heart!  (And actually I didn’t tell my family it was heart chili until after they ate it hehehe….I know, I know – I’m bad!).

Beef Heart Chili

  • Serves 8 Hungry People
  • 1 Beef Heart (Grass Fed)
  • 2 lbs Ground Beef (Grass Fed)
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 1 Green Pepper, chopped
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, chopped
  • Chopped Tomatoes (I used two 26 oz boxes)
  • Olive Oil
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan Cheese
  • Tabasco (to flavor)
  • 2 Tbl Chili Powder
  • 1 Tbl Cumin
  • Few dashes Paprika
  • Few dashes S & P

Cut up the beef heart into cubes.  Heat olive oil in large pot over medium heat (I used my awesome Le Creuset pot) and cook the beef heart cubes until lightly browned.  Remove the heart and place in a pot or glass bowl on the side.  Add more oil to the pot and cook the onions and peppers for about two minutes.  Add the garlic.  Cook for another few minutes.  Add the 2 lbs of ground beef.  Cook thoroughly.  Add the tomatoes.  Stir to combine everything.  Add back in the beef heart.  Add the tabasco, cheese and all the spices.  Stir to mix thoroughly.  Cook at a simmer for a few hours (or really however long you can wait until eating it!).  Make sure to stir throughout the simmering process.  I’ll taste test every now and then and add spices if needed.  Enjoy!!!

The beef heart, mid cutting up

And remember my recent post about BPA found in food cans???  Well tomatoes are an important part of any chili so I was determined to find some not in cans at the grocery store.  And guess what???  I was successful!!!  I found chopped tomatoes in a carton.  They were located next to the pasta and pizza sauces at the store.  And the ingredients:  tomatoes!!!  Nothing else.  Awesome sauce!

Tomatoes not in a can!!! So excited for this find!

The chili simmering:

Do your thang chili!!! Simmer on!

The finished product:

Perfect for a chilly December day!

So seriously, take my word for it:  beef heart chili is really good.  And my family all said they loved my chili (before they knew there was heart in it!).

