Tags

,

Lately Mike and I have been following some of the workouts from a training program we found through CrossFit Endurance.  On Sunday we completed two of the WODs (Workout Of the Day) back-to-back.  Wow.  What an awesome workout 🙂  They had some exercises I had never done before so it was cool learning new techniques and getting those skills down.

WOD #1:

  • 60 Towel Pull ups
  • 100 Kettlebell Snatches (50 each arm)

This isn't me, but this is what towel pull ups while using a band look like

I have done my fair share of pull ups: normal, jumping, chin ups, chest to bar, underhand, overhand, etc.  But never towel pull ups.  Here’s a video that shows you what they are.  In the video he goes through many variations of towel pull ups.  The ones we did are around the 19 second mark.  They are titled “Left up” and “Right up”.  We made sure to have one hand higher on the towel than the other (it’s to mimic climbing a rope essentially).  Then we would switch hands so one is not always higher (or lower) than the other.  These really test your grip strength!!!!  I had to use a band to help me up.  That is the great thing about CrossFit – all of the exercises are able to be modified to each person’s skill/strength level.

After that WOD we warmed up for the next one (as if we weren’t already warmed up!) by doing overhead squats.  Since I don’t have a lot of experience with overhead squatting we practiced those by starting out using just the bar and then slowly added weight.  I got up to 73 lbs for 3 reps during warm up.  If you’re just learning to overhead squat it might be easiest to not even use a bar but use a dowel rod, pvc pipe, or a towel.  That way you don’t have to worry about added weight and can just focus on your form.

Using dowel rods or pvc pipes

WOD #2

  • 5 rounds for time:
  • 3 Overhead Squats
  • 7 Burpees

I completed this WOD in 5:59 and squatted 53 lbs.  Good times 🙂  I love how CrossFit mixes up their workouts and exercises to expose you to a ton of different moves that work various muscles.  

Only a few more days left until Christmas!!!!  Yay!

