Tags

, ,

So certain things in life are deceiving, for example:

MC Escher was the king of visual deceiving images

…and most CrossFit workouts (How’s that for a lead-in???  hehehe).  They look fairly simple/easy/quick on paper but when you actually do them – WOW – not so easy!  I tackled Cindy the other week (if you didn’t know CrossFit names some of their WODs {Workout Of the Day} after girls, see the list here).  I did a 10 minute version as opposed to the regular 20 minutes BUT (and this was a big  but!) I wore an extra 15 lbs throughout the workout.  Crazy hard!!!  If you have a weight vest obviously that would be the easiest to add the weight but we don’t own one 😦 so I improvised 🙂

Here is what I did for the WOD:

Cindy

  • 5 pull-ups
  • 10 push-ups
  • 15 squats
  • AMRAP in 10 minutes (That’s As Many Rounds As Possible)
  • Added 15 lbs

I completed 4 rounds plus 5 pull-ups.  Whew!  I was exhausted.  That extra 15 lbs of “body weight” killed me.  All I kept thinking throughout the workout was that this is how it feels to anyone who is overweight who has to deal with those added, unwanted pounds.  Definitely motivation to stay fit and healthy!  This is how I made my own weight vest:

  • Take desired weight and an old, Ravens-appropriate towel:

  • Wrap up weight in towel (I actually used 2 towels to prevent the weight from banging my back during the workout).
  • Place wrapped weight in book bag:

  • Strap on book bag (I made mine a snug fit to prevent it from bouncing around):

  • And workout!!
  • Tip:  Remove anything you have from the book bag i.e. pencils, books, food, papers, etc.  You don’t want any additional weight and I guess you don’t want to damage your notes and school books either 🙂
  • And I guess by now you figured out this WOD has nothing to do with this Cindy, even though she’s much cuter:

