Tags

, , , ,

One of the gray (or is it “grey”???) areas of Paleo/Primal eating is whether to include dairy or not in one’s diet. Hmmmm….Mike and I are def in the gray area here. I don’t drink milk except coconut milk. Which isn’t exactly what we think of when we’re talking about milk. If you really think about it the whole idea of drinking cow’s milk is odd. Seriously, we’re the only species that drinks another species’ milk. Yeah, weird. So in addition to not drinking milk I try to limit my dairy. We eat cheese, yogurt, and ice cream but in moderation. Mike and I are huge ice cream fans and buy Breyer’s Natural flavors because they are the most, well, natural. But overall we don’t consume huge amounts of dairy.

But because we do have some dairy every now and then I have to share with you an easy appetizer “recipe”.  Recipe is in quotes because this barely qualifies as a recipe.  It’s that easy. But of course when I was making it I wasn’t paying attention and burnt the pecans. So I did find a way to screw up this easy “recipe”. We had this when we were over my parent’s house for Christmas Eve with the family. So I’ll dub it:

Christmas Brie

  • 1 Wheel of Brie
  • Pecans, chopped (about 1 cup)
  • Sugar (to taste)
  • Apricot Jelly/Jam/Preserves (about ¼ cup)

Place sugar, pecans, and a little bit of water in a frying pan. Heat on low, stirring constantly until sugar melts and all the pecan pieces are coated and warmed. Spread apricot on top of the brie wheel. Spoon pecans on top of the apricot. Enjoy!

But sorry, you’ll have to get your own wonderful boyfriend to put it all together for you 🙂

