Tags

, , ,

Hello!  Missed me???? 🙂 I started student teaching last month (yay!!!) and have been super busy. I love it but have had absolutely no free time. I have felt bad that the blog has been slacking in posts so I was determined to post something this weekend, so here it is! Think of it as my little Valentine to you 🙂

A Valentine Classic, Simpson-Style

Mike and I wanted a quick, easy, and healthy dinner to make this past Saturday night. We ended up modifying a “recipe” I had made in the past. It is based off a recipe I’ve made for Crab Cakes. But for this one we used salmon and eliminated the mayonnaise. We replaced the mayo with Greek yogurt – def a win!

This recipe made about 14 salmon cakes (we like our left overs!). The salmon packets we buy are the Chicken of the Sea Wild-Caught Pink Salmon in the 6 oz packets. When buying salmon make sure it is wild caught. There a ga-jillion reasons. Trust me. Also, the measurements aren’t exact but for a recipe like this it’s not dire to replicate it exactly, so have fun experimenting! 🙂

Salmon Cakes

  • 4 Salmon Packets
  • 1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt (Full Fat, Original)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/3 Cup Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, chopped
  • 1/3 Cup Almonds, chopped (or you can use Almond Meal)
  • Old Bay, to taste (we love our Old Bay and probably put about 1 Tbl in)
  • Dry Mustard, 1 tsp
  • Lemon Juice, 1 tsp

Put all the ingredients in a large bowl and thoroughly mix. Using your hands, yes, that’s right – get in there and become one with your food 🙂 form Salmon Cakes (roughly the size of Crab Cakes, or a flatten tennis ball). Place the cakes on a foil-lined pan. Mike sprinkled some chopped almonds on top of some of the cakes since we’re fancy like that. Bake for about 22 minutes. Then broil for another 3-4 minutes so they get crispy on top. We served ours with a seaweed veggie stir fry and white sweet potatoes. Delish!

One thing I forgot to add was dill. I had some dried dill from our CSA but it completely slipped my mind. Also, next time I might experiment and add different spices and herbs. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

The finished dinner!

Enjoy! And Happy Valentine’s Day!

