Tags

, , , ,

One of the most popular excuses people have for not eating a healthy diet and exercising is that they do not have enough time. Don’t have enough time to be healthy? Lame excuse.

But…things do happen and life does get a little busy. For the past few months I’ve been student teaching (and LOVING it!) and have had minimal time after teaching, writing lesson plans, putting together massive student teaching notebooks, and writing lesson plans to do much else. Oh yeah, and did I mention writing lesson plans? πŸ™‚ Honestly though, I love it. But it has been a really busy time for me. While I slacked a little in the exercising department the first few week I made sure I was always getting enough sleep (this is extremely important to me!) and eating healthy.

In order to eat healthy I had to make meals that required very little prep and overall didn’t take a lot of time/effort. I also had to plan ahead. I wanted to make sure our meals were covered for the week since that is when I am the busiest. For a while Mike and I were having smoothies or yogurt with protein powder for breakfast. That’s good but I love food (and seriously, who doesn’t?!?!?!) and crave variety. I didn’t exactly have time in the morning to cook bacon and eggs or an omelet so I improvised: Egg Muffins to the rescue!!!

How cute is this?!?!?! It has nothing to do with eggs but I don't care πŸ™‚

I make a batch of egg “muffins” on Sunday and store them in the fridge for the entire week. (They actually have nothing to do with muffins, they just sort of look like them. So they are completely gluten-free and Paleo). Now Mike and I can have yummy, warm eggs in the morning during the week with barely any time or prep needed! With these egg muffins you can eat them cold or heat them up in the oven/microwave/toaster oven for a few minutes and voila – yummy warm eggs! Mike and I heat them up in the oven so they get nice and crispy on the outside – yummmmm πŸ™‚ Try these out if you are pressed for time in the morning and need an easy way to get your breakfast protein in!

Egg “Muffins”

Makes: 12 Muffins

  • 12 Eggs: Free range, organic preferably πŸ™‚
  • Mix-Ins: Onion, spinach, green pepper, cheese (really whatever you like in your scrambled eggs or omelet)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Herbs/Spices: I love parsley in my eggs but do whatever you like
  • Olive Oil Spray

Preheat the oven to 350Β° F. In a large bowl whisk the 12 eggs together. Chop up any mix-ins you desire and stir them into the eggs. For this batch I did onion and spinach. Mike and I have also made egg muffins with green peppers and tomatoes – both are excellent! Add your spices and herbs. Mix everything together.

Spray a muffin/cupcake pan with oil so the muffins don’t stick. You can also use cupcake liners, I’ve just always sprayed my pans when making these. The first time I made them they came out of the pan perfectly. The second time I made them they stuck to the pan – maybe I didn’t spray the pan as thoroughly as the first time? I dunno. But I was able to cut them out and they still tasted excellent – it was just the scrubbing of the muffin pan later on that wasn’t fun.

I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop out the egg batter from the bowl and into a muffin pan. It’s a whole lot easier than trying to hold up the large bowl and pour directly into each muffin pan. I do a ratio of 1 egg to 1 muffin. So the entire batter is divided up evenly into all 12 muffin pan holes. (Holes doesn’t seem like the right word here but I am at a lost…cavity? Still not right. Indention? I dunno. Hopefully you get what I’m saying!)

Bake for about 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Remove from the muffin pan and cool on a rack. Like I mentioned earlier I place mine in a glass pyrex storage dish in the fridge. When Mike and I want a few for breakfast we just place the desired amount of muffins in the oven and heat for about 5-10 minutes. They get crispy on the outside when you do this – which, in my opinion, is the best way to eat them πŸ™‚

They will puff up and get large but once out of the oven they tend to sink in a little - no biggie - they taste great!

I think he's ready for his close up!

Enjoy!

