Tags

, ,

I’m baaaaack!  🙂  So after a crazy semester of student teaching (and totally loving it!!) I am officially done and am patiently waiting for my teaching certification from the state (10-14 weeks…boooo). But while I wait I can get back on the bandwagon with working out and making a mess in the kitchen – wahoo!!!

Look at the air on that baby! Michael Jordan’s got nothing on me!

So yesterday I completed the Filthy 50. The Filthy 50 is a CrossFit WOD that has you doing 50 reps of multiple exercises (seen here on their site). I had to modify some of the exercises because it was pouring outside and I couldn’t bring any equipment out (I completed the thrusters as opposed to doing wall balls and completely left out the Double Under’s since we don’t have enough space in our gym to jump rope).

The Filthy 50:

  • 50 Box Jumps
  • 50 Jumping Pull Ups
  • 50 Kettle Bell Swings (35 lbs or 1 pood)
  • 50 Walking Lunges (50 steps total)
  • 50 Knees to Elbows
  • 50 Push Press (45 lbs)
  • 50 Back Extensions
  • 50 Wall Balls (or Thrusters using 20 lbs dumbbells)
  • 50 Burpees
  • 50 Double Unders (I didn’t do these)

Total it took me 40:38. Whew. But this WOD is sorta fun (definitely subjective, right???) because it has a variety of exercises and is requiring you to always change up what you’re doing. This WOD is fairly easy to do even if you have minimal equipment. Head out to the local park, use a bench or a low wall for box jumps, a piece of playground equipment for the pull ups and knees to elbows, a kid for the kettle bell swings…wait – what??? Ok, maybe disregard that last one, but you get the picture 🙂 Happy sweating!

The world is your playground…have fun!

