Tags

, ,

So there are numerous benefits to eating healthy (specifically Paleo-style):

Balanced energy throughout the day:

Burn off stored fat

Reduce inflammation

Improve sleep:

And the list can go on and on…

Another benefit (at least I think so) is spending more time in the kitchen experimenting and trying new recipes. I love cooking, baking, grilling, etc.

I do love baking and working out. But not together. Definitely not together. This would not end well for me.

I love finding new healthy Paleo recipes and giving them a try. The other week I was really excited to try a recipe I found online for Paleo biscuits. And what better way to test out biscuits then to make our own version of a McMuffin?!?!?!?!

Now if you know me (or even if you’ve only been reading my blog for a while) you know I am not a fan of McDonald’s. Why? Well their food is gross for starters. Sure, it tastes good but that’s the chemicals, that’s not the taste of the “real” food (assuming there is real food in their stuff). They buy some of the worst quality foods and I really would rather not put that in my body. (Read my post on McDonald’s previous egg supplier and how they abused their chickens here).

However I do love the concept of the Egg McMuffin! Who doesn’t?!?!?!? Honestly, anything with egg and bacon in it is a winner in my book 🙂

Paleo Biscuits

Makes 9 biscuits (from Simply Living Healthy)

  • 6 Egg Whites (I used the yolks along with 2 whole eggs to make scrambled eggs so they didn’t go to waste)
  • ¾ Cup Almond Flour
  • ¼ Cup Coconut Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Dash of Salt
  • 1 ½ Tbl Coconut Oil, chilled

Mix the almond flour, coconut flour, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl. Cut in the cold coconut oil with a fork until the mixture is crumbly. Place the mixture in the fridge for about 10 minutes to chill. In another bowl whisk the egg whites until they are frothy. Fold the egg whites into the chilled flour mixture until combine. I used a ¼ cup measuring cup to scoop the mixture onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Gently press down on the tops of each of the biscuits with the measuring cup to flatten. Bake for 15-18 minutes at 400°F or until crispy and slightly browned at the top.

They are fairly thin so you have to be careful when slicing in half. Also they might not look like much but these littles guys pack a punch! They fill you up! Must be all those good fats they have in ’em 🙂 So top them with grass fed butter, homemade jelly, or make your own healthy version of an Egg McMuffin:

Enjoy!

