Tags

, , , , ,

Happy 4th of July!!!! How are you showing your patriotism today?

By taking your cat on the boat?

By making a matching tux and dress out of duct tape?

or by dressing up your dogs in red and blue bandanas?

Looks like both of our dogs are possessed. Creepy.

How about just having a normal, happy, American picnic?

Feel the joy

So an important part of any good picnic or BBQ is the main dish. And in America that usually means burgers! Now while we’re celebrating America today these burgers have a more international feel to them and I’ll explain how that came to be.

I had the tiniest amount of spaghetti sauce left over from a previous dish so it inspired the first type of burger – the Michelangelo Burger (Christine – I figured you would appreciate the names!!). I had never added spaghetti sauce to my burger mixture but I figured it couldn’t hurt (seriously almost anything is better with sauce!). They turned out delicious and moist – yay! I then decided to use my 2nd package of ground turkey to make a different type of burger – the Frida Burger. I then made Mike guess what the burgers were – he didn’t do too bad either 🙂

I was originally going to call the burgers the Italian Burger and the Mexican Burger but those were boring names. I wanted something with pizazz and flair

You know what, Stan, if you want me to wear 37 pieces of flair, like your pretty boy over there, Brian, why don’t you just make the minimum 37 pieces of flair?

– What movie is that from???? It’s a classic one!

So I thought of something I could pull from both countries and I thought of their artists!

Burgers + Artists = Interesting Art 🙂

No – not make-up artists. Classic, famous artists. Like Michelangelo the famed Italian artist. He’s got a few well known works out there. Maybe you’ve seen one or two of them:

Michelangelo Burgers (Makes 5-6 Patties, depending on how big you want them)

  • 1 Pound Ground Turkey or Beef (Preferably Grass Fed, Local, and Organic)
  • 1/2 Organic Onion, chopped
  • 1/4 – 1/2 Cup Organic Spaghetti Sauce
  • 1 tsp Garlic
  • 1 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • 1 tsp Oregano

Mix all ingredients together. Form patties, grill or cook in the oven until desired doneness. Enjoy!

Frida is the first Mexican artist I thought of. If you haven’t already I recommend watching her documentary starring Salma Hayek: Frida. The other year we saw her exhibit at the Philadelphia Art Museum and it was pretty cool. She has some interesting paintings:

Frida Burgers (Makes 5-6 Patties, depending on how big you want them)

  • 1 Pound Ground Turkey or Beef (Preferably Grass Fed, Local, and Organic)
  • 1/2 Cup Organic Salsa
  • 1/2 Organic Onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbl Chopped Cilantro
  • 2 tsp Cumin
  • 1/4 tsp Lime Juice
  • Tabasco Sauce (Depends on how hot you want these – I used about 2-3 tsp but definitely could have used more)

Mix all ingredients together. Form patties, grill or cook in the oven until desired doneness. Enjoy!

So have a safe and happy 4th of July! Enjoy the day with your family and friends (and your food!)!

Someone’s already partied a little too hard and is out!

